This is the "Home" page of the "Designer Babies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: May 12, 2016 URL: http://lcjsms.summit.libguides.com/designerbabies Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Subject Specific Databases

Full Text Computer Database Notesheet

 

 Points of View

Points of View has a collection of Pro/Con articles. Use the topic Genetic Screening:

Click on above link

Login is lcjsms and student

Click on Show All 

Scroll alphabetically to Genetic Screening

It will open to the Overview article - links to the Point and Counterpoint articles are to the right 

 

EBSCOhost Web: EBSCOhost Web gives you access to many databases that contain magazine, newspaper, encyclopedia and journal articles as well as book chapters.


Facts on File Databases: Science Online and Issues & Controversies are two databases within Facts on File that can help with this project.    

 

GVRL

Gale Virtual Reference Library Search for cloning or genetic engineering or genetic testing

 

 

Genetic Disease Websites

Web Site Notesheet

National Human Genome Research Institute

Genetic Disease Foundation The Genetic Disease Foundation (GDF) was established in 1997 by patients and families affected by genetic disorders. The Foundation’s mission is to support research, education and the prevention of genetic diseases.

Genetics Home Reference Genetics Home Reference is the National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes related to those conditions.

Office of Rare Diseases, National Institutes of Health  Genetic and rare disease information center for major topics of interest in rare diseases research.

WebMD, Diseases and Conditions Guide to the basics, treatment, prevention, community, experts, and the latest news.

World Health Organization Provides access to research database including all WHO publications from 1948 onwards and articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents from 1985 to the present.

 
Please note: This list of websites and descriptions was taken from the Bishop Ireton High School Genetic Disease libguide.
      
     

    Trusted Web Sites

     

    Video

    Web Site Notesheet

    Gene editing with CRISPR-Cas9 - by UC Berkeley (2:20)

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip