This is the "Home" page of the "Forensics (Lachman)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Forensics (Lachman)  

Last Updated: Apr 30, 2015 URL: http://lcjsms.summit.libguides.com/content.php?pid=669715 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Free Web

If you are going to search the free web, we recommend that you use these vetted search engines first. The web site results have already been pre-selected by professionals.

Internet Public Library: http://www.ipl.org/

 
These are free web search engines - they are set to the advanced search mode. This will help you to refine your results:
 

KEYWORDS

IMPORTANT!

Keywords

Topic: Should the use of animal laboratory research be banned?

"Animal rights"

"Animal experimentation"

"lab animals"

Topic: Should division 1 college athletes be paid?

"paid college athletes"

Topic: Athletes should be allowed to skip college and play professional sports immediately.

College vs. professional sports

"NCAA rules" and "professional sports"

Topic: School start times should be later.

"school start times"

teens and sleep

Topic: Technology should replace human labor in the work force.

"automated work force"

humans vs. technology

      
     

    Helpful Databases

     
    1. Go to the POINTS OF VIEW database for articles on your topics.
     
    2. Also go to the EBSCOHOST and select Primary, Middle and MAS databases for articles on your topic.
     
    EBSCOhost contains many databases that contain full text, current news articles. The first four databases on the list can be helpful and there are other databases that are specific to newspapers.
     
     
     
    Screen Shot 2014-01-24 at 7.16.26 AM.png
    Go to the Issues and Controversies database.
    Databases covering Debatable Issues, History, Geography, Science, Health,  and Literature
     
     
    Gale Cengage Databases: Custom Newspapers database contains New Jersey newspapers, the New York Times (full-text from January 1, 2000 to the present), plus many more national and international newspapers. Make sure to select the Custom Newspapers database and deselect the default ones.
     

     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip