This is the "Home" page of the "Off the Grid: Sustainability" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Off the Grid: Sustainability   Tags: 7th grade, science, sustainability  

Last Updated: Dec 4, 2015 URL: http://lcjsms.summit.libguides.com/content.php?pid=645503 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Multimedia Databases

Full Text Computer Database Notesheet

Unknown.jpg

ScienceFlix offers news, videos and articles on science topics.

Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 2.01.17 PM.png
A database with short animated videos, quizzes, articles and activities covering a variety of subjects.

 

 

EBSCO K-8 eBook Collection

eBook Notesheet

Search "solar energy"

eBook K-8 Collection (EBSCOhost)

 

FollettShelf eBook Collection

eBook Notesheet

Our FollettShelf eBook collection contains books on Solar Energy and Sustainable Agriculture - more than one person can use these books at a time.

Username is your ID number

Password is student (all lower case)

FollettShelf

 

Subject Encyclopedia Databases

Full Text Computer Database Notesheet
 
Screen Shot 2014-01-23 at 12.13.34 PM.png
Databases with articles from magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias and more.

Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 1.20.22 PM.png

Articles on American History, Mythology, and biographies



Screen Shot 2014-01-24 at 7.16.26 AM.png
Databases covering Debatable Issues, History, Geography, Science, Health,  and Literature



Screen Shot 2013-12-03 at 6.58.38 AM.png
Gale Virtual Reference Library: eBooks and encyclopedia articles
Gale Biography in Context: Biographical resources
Gale Custom Newspapers: NJ Newspapers, the New York Times and many others



Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 1.24.14 PM.png
Database articles on Science, Social Studies, Health and Language Arts topics




12213_12501_6.png
Database articles on plants, animals, human body, ecosystems, and the scientific method
 

Helpful Keywords

When searching in a databases within EBSCOhost, you can combine keywords to customize your search.

 

Some helpful keyword combinations:

How do we maintain crops throughout the winter?
How does structure optimize solar energy?
Why are aesthetics important in new design?
Structure needs to directly refer to the greenhouse.  Design is in general.  For example appropriate keywords could be "architecture" "aesthetics" "design" "structure" etc.

crops

and

winter

 

crops

and

winter

and optimize

 

greenhouse*

and

solar energy

 

greenhouse*

and

architectur*

 

greenhouse

and

design*

 

greenhouse

and 

aesthetic*

 

greenhouse

and 

design*

 

greenhouse

and

structure

 

 

General Encyclopedia Databases

Full Text Computer Database Notesheet
3 levels of encyclopedias



12213_11547_0.png
5 encyclopedias, including Spanish language



12213_11706_1.png
3 levels of encyclopedias and Spanish language
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip