This is the "Home" page of the "Puerto Rico" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Puerto Rico   Tags: 7th grade, puerto rico, social studies  

Last Updated: Apr 2, 2014 URL: http://lcjsms.summit.libguides.com/content.php?pid=445501 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Videos

The 51st State (3:59)

 

Videos

Puerto Rico Statehood Video (2:57)

 

Videos

Puerto Rico - The 51st State? (3:36)

 

Books

***BOOK NOTESHEET***

Cover Art
Puerto Rico - Jim Ollhoff
ISBN: 9781604536744
Publication Date: 2009-09-01

Cover Art
Puerto Rico - Romel Hernandez
ISBN: 9781422206287
Publication Date: 2010-09-01

Cover Art
Puerto Rico - Maria DaSilva-Gordon
ISBN: 9781435895027
Publication Date: 2010-08-15

Cover Art
Puerto Rico in American History - Richard Worth
ISBN: 9780766028364
Publication Date: 2008-01-01

 

Books

***BOOK NOTESHEET***

 

 

 

Cover Art
Puerto Rico - Martin Schwabacher; Steven Otfinoski
ISBN: 9780761447344
Publication Date: 2009-09-01

Cover Art
Puerto Rico - Patricia Levy; Nazry Bahrawi
Call Number: 972.5 LEV
ISBN: 0761419705
Publication Date: 2005-09-01

Cover Art
Puerto Rico - Lucia Raatma; Darlene R. Stille
ISBN: 9780531185896
Publication Date: 2009-03-01

Cover Art
Puerto Rico - Patricia Levy; Nazry Bahrawi
Call Number: 972.5 LEV
ISBN: 0761419705
Publication Date: 2005-09-01

Cover Art
Puerto Rico in Pictures - Linda Tagliaferro
ISBN: 0822509369
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

 

Database Articles

***FULL TEXT COMPUTER DATABASE NOTESHEET***

Facts on File Databases: Use the Issues and Controversies database and search Puerto Rico for articles on the debate over statehood. The following articles will help:
 
• Puerto Rico's Future
• Should Puerto Ricans Vote for President?
• Puerto Rico: Two Official Languages
 
 
The American History Online database might also help.
 


 
 

 
 
        
 
 
 

General Encyclopedia Databases

***FULL TEXT COMPUTER DATABASE NOTESHEET***
 
These articles will be VERY LARGE. Focus on the history/government sections and just print those sections of the article. 


Encyclopedia Britannica Online School Edition



 Grolier Online

 

        

 

 

Ebsco articles

***FULL TEXT COMPUTER DATABASE NOTESHEET***

 

Puerto Rico Voters Call for Statehood

Puerto Rico Ousts Governor, Backs US Statehood

Puerto Rico Vote Endorses Statehood With Asterix

State, Country or Something Else? Puerto Rico Tries Again To Define Itself and Relation to US

 

** If for some reason the link does not open, you can copy and paste the title into the Kids Search database in EBSCO**

 

 

Articles from the web

***WEB SITE NOTESHEET***

CIA World Factbook : For the most recent statistics

New York Times

CNN

U.S. News and World Report

Fox News Latino article with video interview with Puerto Rico's former Governor Fortuno: start watching at 2:45 for info about statehood

NBC Latino article with video interview with Puerto Rico's former Governor Fortuno

ABC/Univision article

Library of Congress article on Jones Act

Library of Congress article on Foraker Act

United States Census The last PDF chart has a total amount of federal aid for each state (first column)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip