This is the "DATABASE RESOURCES" page of the "8th grade Science- Masters of Disasters" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

8th grade Science- Masters of Disasters   Tags: 8th grade, hurricane, science. disaster, tsunami, volcano  

Last Updated: May 8, 2014 URL: http://lcjsms.summit.libguides.com/content.php?pid=430518 Print Guide RSS Updates

DATABASE RESOURCES Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

eBooks

eBooks - use eBook notesheet

• Brand new resource! Over 7,000 eBooks on many non-fiction topics

eBook K-8 Collection (EBSCOhost)

• Follett eShelf: Go to our library web site for directions on how to access our eBook collection.

General Encyclopedia Databases

Subject Specific Databases

Facts on File

Facts on File Databases: Science Online and Issues & Controversies are two databases within Facts on File that can help with this project.    

GVRL

Gale Cengage Databases: This resource can help you with so many research needs. Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of over 70 eBook titles covering a wide range of research topics.  Custom Newspapers contains New Jersey newspapers, the New York Times (full-text from January 1, 2000 to the present), plus many more national and international newspapers. Informe is a collection of hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects.

EBSCO: EBSCOhost gives you access to many databases that contain magazine, newspaper, encyclopedia and journal articles as well as book chapters. Points of View has a collection of Pro/Con resources.

 

 

MCD

Marshall Cavendish Digital: Use this database to access articles that cover a variety of subject areas: Science, Social Studies, Health and Language Arts.

 

 

Discovery Streaming

Discovery Education Streaming: This source contains full-length videos and video clips on a variety of topics from all subject areas. There is also an image library.

 

 

Britannica Image Quest:   More than 2 million images from over 50 of the best collections in the world. All images are copyright friendly, but don't forget to cite them! 
      
     

    Print Resources

    Take a look at the cart for books and print encyclopedias on hurricanes and tornadoes!

    HURRICANE RELATED KEYWORDS

    storm surge

    scale

    weather conditions

    safety

    formation

    predict*

    damage

    severity

    Hurricane Katrina

    building code*

        

      TORNADO RELATED KEYWORDS

      thunderstorm

      air masses

      lightning

      damage

      weather conditions 

      predict* 

      measure*

      scale

      topography

      safety

      building code* and tornado*

      midwest or plain state*

      tornado alley

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip