This is the "Home" page of the "8th Grade Philippines Country Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

8th Grade Philippines Country Information   Tags: 8th grade, philippines, social studies  

Country Information for Philippines
Last Updated: Jan 7, 2013 URL: http://lcjsms.summit.libguides.com/content.php?pid=416763 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Philippines Website Information

Philippines Flag

United States Department of State

  • Provides information on geographic entities and international organizations. Information includes basic country profile, people and history, government and political conditions, economy, defense, foreign relations, and travel and business information. From the U.S. Dept. of State

Philippines: A Country Study (Federal Research Division, Library of Congress)

National Statistics Office, Republic of the Philippines

  • Various Statistical information on the national and local levels.

Official Gazette - from the office of the President

Governments on the WWW: Philippines

Embassy of the Philippines

Philippines Facts and Figures (From Nationsmaster.com)

  • Provides statistics for the country in the areas of Agriculture, Crime, Education, Food, Lifestyle, and much more. References are included for each statistic.

CIA World Factbook 

  • Gives a good general background of the country, including information on communications, defense, the economy, flags, maps, geography, the people, government, military, and transportation.

Human Rights Watch is one of the world’s leading independent organizations dedicated to defending and protecting human rights.

 

      

    Subject Specific Databases

    Facts on File

    Facts on File Databases: World Geography and Culture Online database provides clear information on government, election, human rights and historical information.


    EBSCO: EBSCOhost gives you access to many databases that contain magazine, newspaper, encyclopedia and journal articles as well as book chapters. 

     

    Picture 4.png

            

    CultureGrams:  If you are researching a country and need cultural information, the CultureGrams website is sure to help. In addition to the articles, there are many new add-on features: Recipe Collection with five native recipes from every country in CultureGrams; Famous People, which features short biographies on countries' best-known individuals; and the Photo Gallery, which contains more than 400 images representing 40 countries. 

     

      

    GVRL

    Gale Cengage Databases: This resource can help you with so many research needs. Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of over 70 eBook titles covering a wide range of research topics.  Custom Newspapers contains New Jersey newspapers, the New York Times (full-text from January 1, 2000 to the present), plus many more national and international newspapers. Informe is a collection of hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects.

        

      General Databases

      Britannica

      Encyclopedia Britannica Online School Edition: Choose between three different levels of encyclopedias.

       

      Grolier

      Grolier Online: Use a variety of general and subject encyclopedias, including Encyclopedia Americana, New Book of Knowledge, New Book of Popular Science, and Lands and Peoples. This source even includes a Spanish-language encyclopedia, Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre en Linea.

       

      World Book

      World Book:  A general encyclopedia source with many articles to help you with your research. World Book also includes a Spanish-language encyclopedia.

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip