This is the "Home" page of the "Ecosystems" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ecosystems   Tags: 7th grade, biomes, ecosystems, science  

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2014 URL: http://lcjsms.summit.libguides.com/content.php?pid=386316 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ecosystem Threats: Trusted Web Sites

World Wildlife Fund

Jeff Corwin Connect

National Geographic (see Mrs. Thomas if it asks you to login)

 

Ecosystem Threats: Database Articles

Use databases within EBSCOhost (Primary Search, Middle Search Plus, Greenfile, etc.)

Search the name of your ecosystem on the top search field

Type in the keyword threat* (or the specific threat) on the second search field. 

Don't forget to scroll down and click on the full text limiter!

Catalog

Search the catalog to find books on the factors you are researching.

Subject Specific Sources

   
Brain Pop: Search "ecosystems" for ecosystem information or the name of a specific factor, like "pandas" for factor information
 

Marshall Cavendish Digital: Use this database to access articles that cover a variety of subject areas: Science, Social Studies, Health and Language Arts.

 

PowerKids Life Science: A science database designed just for kids. Topics covered include: plants, animals, human body, ecosystems, and the scientific method.
   

Gale Cengage Databases: Explore a variety of digital Science reference sources, including ones specifically on biomes and animals.

Science OnlinePresents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams,
definitions, biographies, and experiments.
 

True Flix has video and ebooks. Select the "ECOSYSTEMS" tab.
 

EBSCO: EBSCOhost gives you access to many databases that contain ebooks, magazine, newspaper, encyclopedia and journal articles as well as book chapters.

      

    General Encyclopedias

    Encyclopedia Britannica Online School Edition: Choose between three different levels of encyclopedias.

                    
    Grolier Online: Use a variety of general and subject encyclopedias, including Encyclopedia Americana, New Book of Knowledge, New Book of Popular Science, and Lands and Peoples. This source even includes a Spanish-language encyclopedia, Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre en Linea.
            

            
    World Book:  A general encyclopedia source with many articles to help you with your research. World Book also includes a Spanish-language encyclopedia.
        
       

      Print Reference Sources

      Visit the Reference Section (look for the yellow signs) to use these encyclopedias:

       

      Biomes of the World

      REF 577 ALL

      Exploring Life Science

      REF 570.3 EXP

       

      World Atlas of Coral Reefs

      REF 577.7 SPA

       

      Exploring the Ocean

      REF 551.46 DAY

       

      Endangered Animals

      REF 333.95 BEN

      International Wildlife Encyclopedia

      REF 590.3 BUR

      Beachams Guide to International Endangered Species

      REF 578.64 BEA

      Beachams Guide to Endangered Species of North America

      REF 578.64 BEA

       

      Endangered Wildlife and Plants of the World

      REF 333.95 END

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip